Required to hunt ducks, geese or brant: a New Jersey hunting license, HIP certification, Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp and New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp. Both federal and state stamps are required for waterfowl hunters 16 years of age and older and must be signed in ink across the stamp’s face.
All adult hunters must possess a California State Duck Stamp, a signed Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp), and an Upland Game Bird Stamp (if hunting pheasants). See “Before You Arrive” above.
What are the rules of duck hunting?
Work hard and mind your manners by heeding the following unspoken rules of public land waterfowl hunting.
- Know the laws and regulations. …
- Show up early. …
- Do not set up close to other waterfowl hunters. …
- Do not call if you cannot call. …
- Do not shoot birds working another’s decoys. …
- Do not sky bust. …
- Give fair chase to downed game.
Where can you duck hunt in NJ?
New Jersey has hundreds of miles of ocean and bayshore coastline, plus many coastal and inland wetlands, ponds and lakes. You can find great wood duck shooting in the beaver swamps in the northern portion of the state, and thousands of greater snow geese use the vast salt marshes along Delaware Bay.
Can you hunt ducks on Sunday in NJ?
Sunday in New Jersey.
Duck, goose, brant, coot, rail, moorhen, snipe—1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset. For example, if sunrise is 6:30 a.m. and sunset is 5:00 p.m., hunting hours for these species are 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. … Crow—sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.
All hunters age 16 or older must purchase the Federal Duck Stamp when hunting migratory waterfowl. The California Duck Validation is required for any person taking waterfowl, excluding hunters who have the Junior Hunting License.
How much is a duck stamp?
The Federal Duck Stamp costs $25, the Junior Duck Stamp costs $5. The contest to select the 2021-22 Federal Duck Stamp is scheduled to be held Sept.
How many shells do you need for duck hunting?
Duck hunters are only allowed to use a shotgun, 10 gauge or smaller, that carries no more than three shells. If the shotgun carries more than three shells, the hunter is required to “plug” the gun so that only three shots can be fired before reloading.
How far do you have to be from a house to duck hunt?
2. Thou shall allow ample space between thyself and others – This one’s simple: Unless you’re both willing to partner up, give the next guy room. And in most parts of the country, 50 yards isn’t considered enough.
Do you need a blind to Duck Hunt?
Duck hunters commonly use camo clothing, a blind bag, binoculars, a thermos, flashlights, decoy gloves, mechanical decoys, and other accessories. But none of these items is an absolute necessity.
Can you have ducks in NJ?
Chickens, ducks, geese or other fowl shall not be kept for domestic use unless the following rules and regulations are strictly adhered to: … More than 25 fowl or animals above referred to can be kept at any time, provided the lot on which such fowl are kept contains at least two acres of land.
Is it duck hunting season in NJ?
Statewide: Oct. 16 – Feb. 15 Daily bag limit: 25, singly or in aggregate to include greater and lesser snow geese and Ross’s geese.
How do you get HIP certified?
Certification can be obtained free of charge from any Wildlife Service Agent* when you purchase a hunting license. Lifetime license-holders may also obtain HIP certification by going online, or by calling 1-888-248-6834, or by visiting a Wildlife Service Agent*.